Orthodontics

Orthodontics, formerly orthodontia (from Greek orthos “straight or proper or perfect”; and odous “tooth”) is the first specialty of dentistry that is concerned with the study and treatment of malocclusions (improper bites), which may be a result of tooth irregularity, disproportionate jaw relationships, or both. Orthodontic treatment can focus on dental displacement only, or can deal with the control and modification of facial growth. In the latter case it is better defined as “dentofacial orthopaedics”. Orthodontic treatment can be carried out for purely aesthetic reasons with regards to improving the general appearance of patients’ teeth.

I received my degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery, from Indiana University Dental School, in 1982, after which I started my private practice in Indianapolice, IN.

While I was practicing General Dentistry, I became very interested in orthodontics and started taking every possible course in orthodontics. I have been practicing orthodontics for 25 years and I see why dentistry is called a “Practice”. There is no limit as how much one can learn. With every case I learn more as I get more experienced. I am also an artist and paint a lot. The Love of Orthodontics started with my love of creating a beautiful work of art of . Every time I finish an orthodontic case I can look at the before and after picture of my patients’ smiles and see the beauty and the art work alive in my Patients’ faces.

I now have practiced dentistry for 30 years and orthodontics for 25 years.

I love Redding the beautiful weather, lovely lakes, the opportunity of fishing and hiking the friendly people and I could go on.  After over 30 years of experience in Dentistry; I have my own practice in Redding, located at 1548 East street, across from Shasta Regional hospital . I am a Preferred Provide, of Invisalign, the clear dental brace and the director of  Redding Invisalign Center.

In July 1990 I received fellowship award from academy of General Dentistry. This award requires 600 hours of continuing education and passing required examination. In July 2000 I received Masters award from Academy of General Dentistry (MAGD) . This is the highest award for continuing education. This award requires 800 hours of participation in dentistry specialties. According to the Journal of the Academy of General Dentistry, only 1% of US dentists achieve this high level of advancement.

My practice emphasis are:
Invisalign Dental Braces, orthodontics, advanced TMJ treatment, oral surgery, sleep Disorders, placement of implants, restorations of cosmetic dentistry, whole mouth rehabilitation, fixed and removable prosthodontics, periodontics (soft tissue management), tooth and implant supported over dentures, endodontic, molars and anterior.

Leave a Reply

